ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Wahala

Set to be the most talked-about book of 2022

Nikki May

Fiction / Family Life / General

SEX AND THE CITY with a killer edge for fans of QUEENIE, EXPECTATION and MY SISTER, THE SERIAL KILLER

'This has bestseller written all over it. Fast-paced, funny, shocking, unputdownable. I loved it' PAULA HAWKINS, author of The Girl on the Train and A Slow Fire Burning

'I just raced through Wahala. Nikki May writes so well about friendship, food, fashion and the many ways modern women can stumble in their careers and personal lives' CLARE CHAMBERS, author of Small Pleasures
_______________

Ronke, Simi, Boo are three mixed-race friends living in London. They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English, though not all of them choose to see it that way.

Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future. Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again.

When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them.

Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking. When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself.

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on love, race and family, Wahala will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror. Boldly political about class, colorism and cooking, here is a truly inclusive tale that will speak to anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.
_______________
'Sharp, precise, unapologetic, modern. In one word, Exquisite!'Lolá Ákínmádé Åkerström, author of IN EVERY MIRROR SHE'S BLACK
'I have a feeling this book is going to be huge' MARIANNE CRONIN
'Bold, juicy and real. WAHALA is tense and powerful' LAUREN NORTH
'Dazzling and bursting with life' TAMMY COHEN
'Love that 'Sex and the City' has finally met moi-moi and plantain with a whole lot of Wahala thrown in' ROSANNA AMAKA

Do you want to read this book? 😳
Buy it now!

Similar books

The Hero of This Book
The Sweetest Thing
Last Summer on State Street
Walk the Vanished Earth
The Way Back To You
The Lioness
Summer Island
Beautiful
Beautiful
Dessert at The Beach House Hotel