ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

The House on the Water's Edge

A gripping thriller packed with suspense

CE Rose

Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General

'What an emotional, twisty, rollercoaster of a novel! It kept me guessing all the way through.' Alice Hunter, author of The Serial Killer's Wife

Sometimes the past is best left buried

Since the birth of baby Joe five weeks ago, Ali Baker has been struggling to cope. Starved of sleep and haunted by painful memories from the past, she’s a million miles away from the polished, professional barrister she has worked so hard to become.

Then her mother tragically and unexpectedly dies, leaving Ali an orphan. Haunted by her loss, Ali can’t forget her mother's last words to her: There is something I really need to tell you...

Heading back to the Norfolk Broads to sort her mother's things, Ali is plunged into memories of her family’s picture-perfect summers on the river.

But as she starts to uncover secrets hidden within the isolated house, Ali is drawn into a dark web that threatens to destroy everything she believed about her childhood – and her very sanity.

Ali may finally discover her mother's secrets... but at what cost?

A gripping, captivating psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Samantha Hayes and S.E. Lynes.

Perfect for book group reading - includes discussion questions.

Readers are loving The House on the Water's Edge:

A novel that gradually creeps under your skin...suffocatingly claustrophobic with an ‘oh my goodness’ finale!’ Carla Kovach, author of The Next Girl

'Absorbing from start to finish. The climax is incendiary. It set my day on fire.' Amanda Robson, author of Obsession

'The creeping sense of doom reached its crescendo and did not disappoint. The twists and revelations left me reeling!' Ruby Speechley, author of The Face at the Window

‘As I finished the last page, I nearly dropped my eReader! WHAT?!?! Definitely a book you’ll want to pick up!’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

'This gripping, twisty tale of family secrets and ancient lies coming home to roost is a real rollercoaster of emotion. I couldn’t put it down...What a fantastic read!’ Judi Daykin, author of Under Violent Skies

'A sharp, twisty thriller filled with secrets...fantastic.' Chris George, author of Guess Who

'A completely engrossing story, full of intrigue and mystery, and with a dash of romance too. Brilliant!' C.J. Cooper, author of The Book Club

‘Loved how the secrets started to unfold...With one final unexpected revelation at the end, this left me open mouthed.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

Loved this one!...Lots of twists and turns along the way. Definitely one I recommend.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘This psychological thriller was a never-ending journey of twists and turns...the author had you hanging onto her every word.’

A really exciting and thrilling read...with lots of twists and turns.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘I wasn't expecting the twist...I didn't see it coming at all.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

Hard to put down...filled with secrets, childhood drama, and a lot of tragedy.’ Reader Review

‘I am definitely going to be looking for more from this author, highly recommend.’ Reader Review

‘I loved it. Well-written, fun to read, quick to finish.’ Reader Review

‘This was such a fast paced read! The plot was fabulous and I had no idea what to expect next... Which kept me on my toes.’ Reader Review

Isolation, lonely and creepy! It really opened up the more I read.’ Reader Review

Similar books

The Girl from Guernica
Agatha Raisin in Down the Hatch
Bodies from the Library 4
The Quiet People
Forgotten In Death: An Eve Dallas thriller (In Death 53)
Friends Like These
When the Dead are Razed
A Slow Fire Burning
The House on the Water's Edge
Survive the Night